Say Amen Somebody!

On May 17, 1967, Ron Scolastico sat on the steps of Sproul Plaza at UC Berkeley, mesmerized by the words and presence of Martin Luther King who helped pave the way for a person of color to become President. On January 17, 2009, Ron and I listened with tears in our eyes, to Barack Obama speak in Philadelphia at the start of his historic ride to Washington DC. Of course, we were only as close as our TV this time, but good enough.

What stood out for me is the following paragraph from Obama’s speech,

“I believe that our future is our choice and that if we could just recognize ourselves in one another and bring everyone together – Democrats, Republicans and independents, north, south, east and west, black, white, Latino, Asian and Native American, gay and straight, disabled and not – then not only would we restore hope and opportunity in places that yearned for both, but maybe, just maybe, we might perfect our union in the process.”

That, my friends, in a nutshell, is the crux of what I consider to be true spirituality–if we could just recognize ourselves in one another and bring everyone together. This is the Golden Rule stated without shoving religion down our throats. This was the true teaching of Jesus, Confucius and other great teachers. If it were practiced fully, we would not only perfect our union, we would manifest the divine into human reality and perfect our world.

And so, we are hopeful once again, that the words and deeds of a great leader will touch the hearts of humanity and propel us to a new beginning of kindness, compassion and love toward one another. Say Amen somebody!

By the way, Obama has designated MLK day as a day of service and a day to recommit to making this world a better place. Here is a site to find places to be of service in your area. Here is another suggestion for action: Born Again American. Please feel free to suggest other sites that you consider worthy.

This entry was posted in Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Say Amen Somebody!

  1. Amy says:

    That is so true…. If we could all recognize just a bit of ourselves in each and every person we meet, we would be on a fast-track to a happier, healthier world. Good reminder.

    P.S. That Born Again America sight is impressive. I hope they make it available year round.

  2. annie Wallack says:

    I’m excited about having a new America. I volunteer in the Palmdale Literacy Program, and I work with Mental Health America, so I think I’m doing my part. There’s always more though. I’m hoping that the more energy that goes into helping others in a practical way, the more there will be for future projects and that the whole thing will snowball into a much happier world. Annie Wallack

  3. When I hear speeches of important people, I stop to do Aura Reading or, depending on the person, an Empath Merge. Does that person have the standing in consciousness and character to mean the uplifting words? Is the person congruent with the message?

    Obama’s aura is just an inspiration. The deeper I read him, the better he gets.

    Trying to decide how to spend Inauguration Day, I have settled on staying at home, rather than making a logistically very difficult trip downtown to the D.C. mall. I’m planning on doing a detailed Aura Reading from some of the footage there or from watching the great festivities on TV.

    For me, Susan and other Blog-Buddies here, Deeper Perception is what makes oneness really exciting. The more we find the who-quality of the person deep down, the more we have a basis for connection.

    In a way, we’re similar but in a way (and this is the part that fascinates me), each of us is magnificently unique. Ironically, the more I savor a person’s uniqueness, the more comfortable I feel with the experience of oneness.

  4. chappy says:

    I followed your link on opportunities for service in my zip code and thanks to you, I am scheduled to give blood at a local hospital. Many thanks for giving me this opportunity.

  5. Dale Fielder says:

    Amen my beautiful Brother & Sister!
    Well Said!

  6. Doug Wallack says:

    It seems we live at an auspicious moment in history, at least I’m feeling that way.

    Here’s a link to some wonderful discussions: http://pods.gaia.com/ii/discussions/view/388508#388508

    I’m ready to get to work and help this new world emerge.

    Cheers,
    Doug

Leave a Reply

